Home
 

Aboriginal Liaison Nurses

Aboriginal Liason Nurses (ALNs) can advocate on your behalf and help you with:

  • Accessing non-insured health benefits as needed
  • Access to the All Nations' Healing Room in the Patient Care Centre
  • Discharge planning and communication with community contacts
  • Getting a hardship parking pass for one family member
  • Referrals to community services
  • Referral to Pastoral Care as requested
  • Support for you and your family during a hospital stay
  • Understanding health care issues

As an Aboriginal patient, you have a right to:

  • Ask questions about your health care.
  • Be acknowledged as an individual.
  • Be cared for in a respectful, dignified and culturally safe manner by competent health care professionals.
  • Be consulted and actively participate in decisions about your health care.
  • Freedom from verbal, physical and sexual abuse, or neglect.
  • Get a second opinion from another doctor.
  • Privacy and confidentiality of your health information.
  • Request access to the information in your health record.
  • Refuse to have students, residents and other training present during your appointment or examination.
  • Refuse treatment, unless you have a serious communicable disease that could harm other people such as TB or Syphilis.

To learn more, visit the links below or contact a nurse:

Alert Bay

Alert Bay ALN brochure (.pdf)

Teliah Vollick, BSN, RN
Cell:
250.974.8314
Phone: 250.974.5522  Local:  2184
Fax: 250.974.2698
Email: teliah.vollick@viha.ca

Campbell River

Campbell River General Hospital ALN brochure (.pdf)

Juliet Bullock, RN
Cell: 250.830.8865
Phone: 250.850.2460 
Fax: 250.850.2618
Email: juliet.bullock@viha.ca 

Comox

Comox - St. Joseph's General Hospital ALN Brochure (.pdf)

Laurel Anderson, RN
Cell:
  250.650.5714
Phone: 250.890.3810  Ext:  61044
Fax: 250.339.1437
Email:  laurel.anderson@viha.ca

Cowichan /Duncan

Cowichan District Hospital ALN Brochure (.pdf)

Helen Dunlop, RN
C/O Ts'ewultun Health Centre
Cell: 250.709.8204
Phone: 250.746.6184  Ext: 321
Email: helen.dunlop@cowichantribes.com

Ts'ewultun Health Centre

Nanaimo

Nanaimo Regional General Hospital ALN Brochure (.pdf)

Carol Nelson, RN
C/O Tillicum Lelum Friendship Centre
Cell:  250.741.4234
Phone: 250.753.6578
Email: carol.nelson@viha.ca

Tillicum Lelum Aboriginal Friendship Centre     

Port Alberni

West Coast General Hospital ALN Brochure (.pdf)

Pearl Dorward, BN
Cell:
250.735.0438
Phone: 250.731.1370 VolP: 48109
Fax: 250.724.8805
Email: pearl.dorward@viha.ca

Nuu-chah-nulth Community & Human services

Port Hardy

Port Hardy Hospital ALN brochure (.pdf)

Margaret Wilson, RN BScN MEd, PhDc
C/O Port Hardy Health Unit / Port Hardy Hospital
Cell:    250.230.0335
Phone: 250.902.6011  Ext:  66985
Fax: 250.902.6030
Emailmargaret.wilson@viha.ca

Saanich

Saanich Peninsula Hospital ALN brochure (.pdf)

Jane Fox, RN BScN
Cell:
778.677.0774
Phone: 250.652.7590
Fax: 250.652.7547
Email: jane.fox@viha.ca

Tofino

Tofino General Hospital CTLN Brochure (.pdf)

Katelyn Thompson, RN
Cell: 250.735.1014
Phone: 250.725.4010  Ext:  64143
Fax: 250.725.4012
Email: katelyn.thompso@viha.ca

Victoria

Victoria Hospitals ALN Brochure (.pdf)

Monique Pat, RPN
Cell:
  250.480-8333
Phone: 250.519-1905
Fax: 250.519.1524
Email: monique.pat@viha.ca

Cathy Condy, RN
Cell
:  250.812-1464
Phone: 250.370.8847
Fax: 250.519.1524
Emailcatherine.condy@viha.ca

Victoria Native Friendship Centre - Health Services