Welcome to Island Health

On August 1 st, we launched our new public website:

wwww.islandhealth.ca

and a new website for medical staff:

medicalstaff.islandhealth.ca

Our website was developed in partnership with patients and residents of Vancouver Island and the surrounding regions. It's accessible, mobile friendly and flexible to help us evolve with our communities as we work towards excellent health and care for everyone, everywhere, every time.

Come visit the new sites and update your bookmarks. This www.viha.ca site will continue to be available for one month so that our staff and partners have time to update their links to the new site. You can still browse the old site but it will no longer be updated.

Home
 

Aboriginal Liaison Nurses

Aboriginal Liaison Nurses (ALNs) can advocate on your behalf and help you with:

  • Accessing non-insured health benefits as needed
  • Access to the All Nations' Healing Room in the Patient Care Centre
  • Discharge planning and communication with community contacts
  • Getting a hardship parking pass for one family member
  • Referrals to community services
  • Referral to Pastoral Care as requested
  • Support for you and your family during a hospital stay
  • Understanding health care issues

As an Aboriginal patient, you have a right to:

  • Ask questions about your health care.
  • Be acknowledged as an individual.
  • Be cared for in a respectful, dignified and culturally safe manner by competent health care professionals.
  • Be consulted and actively participate in decisions about your health care.
  • Freedom from verbal, physical and sexual abuse, or neglect.
  • Get a second opinion from another doctor.
  • Privacy and confidentiality of your health information.
  • Request access to the information in your health record.
  • Refuse to have students, residents and other training present during your appointment or examination.
  • Refuse treatment, unless you have a serious communicable disease that could harm other people such as TB or Syphilis.

To learn more, visit the links below or contact a nurse:

Alert Bay

Alert Bay ALN Brochure (.pdf)

Teliah Vollick, BSN, RN
Cell:
250-974-8314
Phone: 250-974-5522  Local:  2184
Fax: 250-974-2698
Email: teliah.vollick@viha.ca

Campbell River

Campbell River General ALN Brochure (.pdf)

Vacant

Cell: 250-830-8865
Phone: 250-286-7100 Ext. 67305 
Fax: 250-286-7177
Email:

Comox

Comox Valley Hospital ALN Brochure (.pdf)

Laurel Anderson, RN
Cell:
  250-650-5714
Phone: 250-339-5900  Ext:  65308
Email:  laurel.anderson@viha.ca

Cowichan /Duncan

Cowichan District Hospital ALN Brochure (.pdf)

Helen Dunlop, RN
C/O Ts'ewultun Health Centre
Cell: 250-709-8204
Phone: 250-746-6184  Ext: 321
Email: helen.dunlop@cowichantribes.com

Ts'ewultun Health Centre

Mt. Waddington

Mount Waddington ALN Brochure (.pdf)

Rebecca Olesen, MPH, BScN, RN(c)
C/O Port Hardy Health Unit / Port Hardy Hospital
Cell: 250-949-0340
Phone: 250-902-6011 Ext/VolP: 66985
Fax: 250-902-6030
Email: rebecca.olesen@viha.ca

Nanaimo

Nanaimo Regional General Hospital ALN Brochure (.pdf)

Carol Nelson, RN
Shannon Joyce, RN

C/O Tillicum Lelum Friendship Centre
Cell: 250-741-4234
Phone: 250-753-6578
Carol Nelson's Email: carol.nelson@viha.ca
Shannon Joyce's email: shannon.joyce@viha.ca

Tillicum Lelum Aboriginal Friendship Centre     

Port Alberni

Westcoast General Hospital ALN Brochure (.pdf)

Vanessa Gallic, LPN
Cell:
250-735-4319
Phone: 250-731-370 VolP: 48109
Fax: 250-731-1342
Email: vanessa.gallic@viha.ca

Nuu-chah-nulth Community & Human services

Saanich

Saanich Peninsula Hospital ALN Brochure (.pdf)

Jane Fox, RN BScN
Cell:
778-677-0774
Phone: 250-652-7590
Fax: 250-652-7547
Email: jane.fox@viha.ca

Tofino

Tofino General Hospital CTLN Brochure (.pdf)

April Nelson, RN BScN
Jennifer Etty, RN BScN
Cell: 250-735-1014
Phone: 250-725-4010  Ext:  64143
Fax: 250-725-4012
April Nelson Email: april.nelson@viha.ca
Jennifer Etty Email: jennifer.etty@viha.ca

 

Victoria

Victoria Hospitals ALN Brochure (.pdf)

Monique Pat, RPN
Cell:
  250-480-8333
Phone: 250-519-1905
Fax: 250-519-1524
Email: monique.pat@viha.ca

Cathy Condy, RN
Cell
:  250-812-1464
Phone: 250-370-8847
Fax: 250-519-1524
Emailcatherine.condy@viha.ca

Victoria Native Friendship Centre - Health Services