Board Members

Board appointments for Island Health are decided by the Government of British Columbia. Members are chosen for their leadership skills, decision-making abilities and willingness to be accountable.

Leah Hollins (Chair)

Leah Hollins was appointed to the role of Chair for the Island Health’s Board of Directors in September 2017. Leah brings vast experience to us in health-care policy, programs, strategy and service delivery.

Full Biography

Roger Barnsley

Roger Barnsley has devoted his career to education, administration and academic research. Most recently, he was President and Vice-Chancellor of Thompson Rivers University (TRU) in Kamloops, retiring in 2010. In 2011, he was recognized by TRU as President Emeritus. Dr. Barnsley earned his undergraduate degree in Psychology from the University of Victoria and his graduate degrees, including a Ph.D., from McGill University, Montreal.

James Dutton

Jim Dutton is a retired cardiovascular and thoracic surgeon who practiced in Victoria from 1978 to 2006. He was Chief of Cardiac Surgery and the Medical Director of Heart Health, Vancouver Island, and a past president of the Canadian Society of Cardiac Surgeons.

Robin Kenyon

Robin Kenyon is a life-long resident of the Cowichan Valley and partner and co-manager in a land surveying/development consulting firm in Duncan where he specializes in First Nations and municipal land development.

Ron Mattson

Ron Mattson is a distinguished, engaged and committed long-serving community leader. Ron served as a senior manager within the Ministry of Health for the Government of British Columbia managing research initiatives, policy and administration. He is currently a councillor for the town of View Royal, having recently been re-elected for his seventh term.

Claire Moglove

Claire Moglove is retired from private practice as a lawyer where she focused on Family Law, in particular mediation, negotiation and collaborative law. She is a graduate from the University of Manitoba’s Law School and was called to the BC Bar in 1980. She established her private law practice in Vancouver in 1981 and later relocated her practice to Campbell River in 1992.

Robina Thomas

Qwul’sih’yah’maht (Robina Thomas) is a member of Lyackson First Nation.  Dr. Thomas is an Associate Professor and holds a faculty position in the School of Social Work at the University of Victoria. Presently she is the Director, Indigenous Academic and Community Engagement.  

Jean Wheeler

For over 40 years the provision of quality health care has been central to Jean Wheeler’s career. Prior to her retirement in 2009, Jean worked as a health care manager in Rural Health for Island Health. Subsequently, she was an instructor in the Health Care Program at North Island College in Port Hardy.

M.J. Whitemarsh

M.J. is a seasoned professional whose background spans 35 years in senior management.  As Chief Executive Officer of the Canadian Home Builders’ Association of BC (CHBA BC), M.J.’s influence is seen in education, training, apprenticeship, green building technologies, codes and compliances. 

Starr Winchester

Starr Winchester was appointed to the Island Health Board in 2015. She was born and raised in the Comox Valley and worked in the banking industry for 35 years; 23 of those years in management positions. Starr retired from banking in 2001 when she was elected Mayor of Courtenay.